Molasses Spice Cookies (GF, DF)

ImageI haven’t made cookies in a while. I don’t eat gluten, in order to manage symptoms of my autoimmune disease, and the few coconut flour cookie recipes I’ve tried haven’t left me eager to waste more ingredients.

But this time was different. This time, I even wrapped up the cookies and gave them to NEIGHBORS. Ones who eat gluten! And my husband, ever fearful to try anything I make because they may have hidden liver or some other “weird” food in them, declared the cookies some of the best I’ve ever made. (I actually just made them for me, because I wanted to add more molasses to my diet, for the iron and potassium, so I guess I’ll have to make another batch…)

So, to celebrate fall, and recipe success, here’s my new favorite cookie recipe!

Molasses Spice Cookies

Makes 18 2 inch cookies

1/2 c Muscovado (amazingly delicious unrefined brown sugar)

1/2 c molasses (I used blackstrap for it’s nutritional profile)

1/2 c room temperature butter (or coconut oil for dairy free)

2 eggs

3/4 cup coconut flour

2 t cinnamon

1-2 t freshly grated ginger

1/2 t nutmeg

1/2 t cloves

1/2 t salt

2 t baking soda

(I get all my bulk herbs and spices from Mountain Rose Herbs.)

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix the first four ingredients until well combined. Add the coconut flour gradually, while mixing. (I tend to make most of my cookie and cake recipes in a Vitamix and love the way they turn out. Stand mixers work well too.) Once well combined, add remaining ingredients.

Plop a tablespoon of dough onto a cookie sheet, and sprinkle with a little extra sugar if you’d like. They were plenty sweet without it though.

Enjoy!

Megan McGrory Massaro is a mother, freelance writer, and author, rediscovering her love for exercising. She wrote The Other Baby Book: A Natural Approach to Baby’s First Year  to empower women to make the best choices for their families.

2 thoughts on “Molasses Spice Cookies (GF, DF)”

Leave a Reply

