Gratitude and parenthood

Since it’s Thanksgiving, I thought it would be appropriate to talk a bit about gratitude.

Did you know that gratitude actually makes you happier? It’s been proven time and again that people who take time even just once a week to count their blessings are less fazed by apparent setbacks, less aggressive towards people who may have slighted them, and see more reasons to be grateful.

‘Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos into order, confusion into clarity…. It turns problems into gifts, failures into success, the unexpected into perfect timing, and mistakes into important events. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow.’ ~ Melodie Beattie

As parents, we have just as many opportunities to be grateful as we do to get frustrated. Each moment we are tested as parents is an opportunity to overcome our automatic tendencies to label behaviors as bad or undesirable. In truth, each moment is just an opportunity to be present with our child, whatever they’re going through, and to try and absorb whatever they’re trying to tell us.

I’ll kick off the parenthood gratitude practice with five things I’m grateful for:

1. the opportunity to see the world anew through my daughter’s eyes

2. the pure joy that radiates from within my daughter and all the children I encounter

3. the cuddles and hugs we share every day

4. the way she’s always learning new things and surprising me with them

5. her pudgy little delicious cheeks.

What about your child specifically or parenthood in general are you grateful for?

One thought on “Gratitude and parenthood”

  1. Great blog! Through my daughter, I’m also grateful to have the opportunity to experience what my mother might have been through, and to see what my own infant/toddler hood was like.. .part of my life that I have absolutely no memory of, and now I know!

Leave a Reply

